Digital Citizenship

All Teachers Watch this First

Watch the appropriate grade-level training video to get an overview of the lesson plans*


 Card Icon
District Policy for the Children's Internet Protection Act
Top of Page

The Children's Internet Protection Act (CIPA) was enacted by Congress in 2000 to address concerns about children's access to obscene or harmful content over the Internet. CIPA imposes certain requirements on schools or libraries that receive discounts for Internet access or internal connections through the E-rate program – a program that makes certain communications services and products more affordable for eligible schools and libraries. In early 2001, the FCC issued rules implementing CIPA and provided updates to those rules in 2011.

What CIPA requires
Schools and libraries subject to CIPA may not receive the discounts offered by the E-rate program unless they certify that they have an Internet safety policy that includes technology protection measures. The protection measures must block or filter Internet access to pictures that are: (a) obscene; (b) child pornography; or (c) harmful to minors (for computers that are accessed by minors). 

Schools subject to CIPA have two additional certification requirements: 1) their Internet safety policies must include monitoring the online activities of minors; and 2) as required by the Protecting Children in the 21st Century Act, they must provide for educating minors about appropriate online behavior, including interacting with other individuals on social networking websites and in chat rooms, and cyberbullying awareness and response.
Internet Safety Process for All GUSD Teachers and Students:
1. All school sites are required to develop an Internet Safety Plan, that identifies the project lead (principal or assistant principal or site specialist), date of teacher training, teachers who will provide instruction, and a timeline for completion. 
2. This web site has been organized to provide teachers with lessons and resources that will comply with this legislation. (The minimum number of lessons required per grade level is three, one in each area: appropriate online behavior, including interacting with other individuals on social networking websites and in chat rooms, information literacy and cyberbullying awareness and response.
3. The school must provide the district with evidence of Internet Safety instruction for all grade levels each year. This will be done through completion of the Teacher Verification Document.  Site administrators are responsible for ensuring that lessons are completed by September 30th of each school year.
NOTE: Each school site's Internet Safety Plan determines those teachers providing instruction at each grade level.